Understanding the mind of God

I’ve tried to think of a million different ways to convey this thought, but have erased it at least 3 times now.

I’ll leave it at this…..sometimes, I just don’t understand God’s plans. I don’t understand why tonight, someone who is young, who has a lifetime in front of her, and who has given her life in service to her Creator, is literally hours from going to meet Him because of cancer that is ravaging her body.

I don’t understand why, in the last 4 months, I’ve heard of no less than 5 people, both personally and publicly, who have either been diagnosed with, are currently battling, or have passed away from some terminal disease; all of whom have committed their lives to furthering His kingdom.

I know the theology. I know that “all things work together for good.” I know all the verses we comfortably quote when we are standing outside a situation and don’t feel it’s sting.

I’m just confessing to you that right now, I don’t get it. I love God, I know I can never fully understand His ways, and I accept that. In this moment, I just wish I had a little better grasp on it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Pankaj Doharey  On March 18, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    hello friend …. your article is touching … and startlingly true ……
    felt like my own thoughts i once had about god …..

    Dont u think that there is a sense of irony … in gods divine plan …. ?

    Couldn’t it be … that he/she does not have any divine plan …. ?

    For any further clarification read titles from Richard dawkins like .. .. THE GOD Delusion , The BLIND Watchmaker and many others …

    U will get the answers that u are seeking …. the real truthful answers

  • george  On September 24, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Everything happens for a reason… Even things that are not pleasant to people can make something else work well… The society and our presence in earth is part of a really complicated mechanism… If we could understand everything probably we would be in His position… All human beings will search to find their worst problem and make it huge regardless of it’s size. In any case all of us would have something to complain for. Even people that you are jealous of, have a perfect life, are rich and famous can finally die from an overdose of drugs. Why??? Because we always tend to need more than we already have.. We cannot be happy with our lives until we lose something and think that we are jealous of ourselves in our previous condition.. So in many cases, there are much more obvious things that we cannot understand.. If you are rich you are luckier than the poor.. If you are handsome you are luckier than the ugly.. If you are alive you are luckier than the dead.. There should always be something for everyone to feel luckier than another one.. Otherwise you would only have one choice… Think about it… And stop trying to get inside His mind because you cannot…

    • Jeffrey  On November 13, 2012 at 11:16 pm

      While I appreciate that perspective, this was actually not about me at all. It was regarding a friend who was young and died from cancer. So while it may seem this was about me, it really wasn’t. Appreciate the sermon that ran parallel to the point I was making regardless……

Leave a Reply

