perfunctory

I wish things were more simple sometimes. I’m watching “Fiddler on the Roof” currently, which automatically makes me think of the first time I watched it when I was younger. Things seemed much easier back then. Different set of issues, I suppose. Truth is, life probably seemed just as difficult back then as it does now, just in a different way. I also suppose it’s true that with responsibility comes the realization that much of what you deal with as an adult is by your own doing. Much of what you have to confront day in and day out is not from things out of your control, but rather caused by your own hand.

Times like this make me want to shut off from the world completely. I don’t want to talk to anyone. I don’t want to socialize. I don’t want to talk on the phone. Again, truth be told, I’d like to go somewhere to escape everything. I guess that’s part of the whole equation, too. As much as we don’t want to confront our own situations, running from them is futile, and many times, not even possible. If we CAN run from our issues, it’s only temporal, and you usually can’t get very far. Inevitably, our problems will catch up with us. It serves no purpose to run, for if we confront, we can overcome.

Confront, and overcome.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

