Car vs. Semi

Here’s another one moved over.  I liked this one, and I think it’s an important thing for us all to remember from time to time.

 Originally posted on 8/17/2006

Life. Man, what a whirlwind it can be. I currently have so much on my plate, that it seems I can’t keep up.

-I’ve tried keeping up here, to no avail, and I have lost touch completely with a few other blogs I like trying to keep up on, because they are genuinely interesting.

-I’ve tried staying with some type of workout routine, again, to no avail.

-I currently have, between 2 websites I write for, about 15 cd reviews to get out.

-I am preparing to study for my Series 6 & 63 investment license, which will expand the scope of what I do in the ‘real world’, and set my course to a further degree for my career.

-I have 3 kids, one of which, as previously mentioned, just joined our household a few short months ago. By the way, at 2 months, he is double his birth weight, and 4 inches taller, or in baby talk, longer, than at birth. This kid is mine through and through. But I digress.

-I am busier at work this year than any year past, since I started in this profession. Hey, I’m not complaining about that, it’s a good problem to have.

-I am now serving as a youth leader, which has meant occasional teaching on Tuesday nights. I love teaching youth, it’s a blast. I can ‘talk’ to them, without talking down, it seems like I can be a bit more ‘real’ with them. Maybe I’m still young at heart.

-The band. Whew. Since Mike returned from New Orleans, we have scheduled 8 shows in the next 2 months. That’s the polar opposite of 3 weeks ago, when we had 1 show scheduled. We’ll definitely be backing up a bit after mid-October.

-I was seriously considering taking a series of college level online Bible courses, to sharpen me as it relates to being a church leader and teacher. That has, unfortunately, gone to the backburner with the addition of the investment licensing I’m preparing to go through. I will get to this, but fortunately, there is no time limit nor constraints on when I have to be done. So it gave way temporarily.

All this got me thinking what having a full plate typically (or at least hopefully) gets the believer thinking:

Have I stopped to hear God today?

Hmmm. Come to think of it, have I stopped to hear God this week? Now there’s a sobering thought. In all the daily grind, in all the rush, and in all the ‘I wish there were more hours in the day!’ moments, how often have we stopped to just listen. When was the last time you just shut the world off, shut out all the distractions, and just waited on God? How much time have you found this week to clear out just a few minutes for the Creator of the universe? Consider these few verses:

Psalms 46:10-“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (NIV)

Deuteronomy 4:29-“But if from there you seek the LORD your God, you will find him if you look for him with all your heart and with all your soul.” (NIV)

I Peter 5:8-“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:” (KJV)

Now, you can probably guess how the first two passage relate, but what about the last passage? What does the devil ‘seeking whom he may devour’ have to do with a busy day?

Here’s how.

If your mind can be occupied with other things, with things that are temporal, short-term, and meaningless in the ‘big picture’, then what satan has done is to divert you from that time with God. He knows that if you can get to that ‘there’s not enough time in the day’ phase of life, that your time with God will likely suffer, and as a result, he will have succeeded in getting his foot in the door of your life. He will systematically pick you apart, and the changes are so subtle, so minute, that you can’t even tell or realize what is happening. And that’s when he’s got you right where he wants you. And it is my humble opinion that we are just as wrong for our sin of neglecting God, as we are for our sins of lust, greed, envy, and hate. Time spent away from God with the busyness of the day, week and month is seperation from God, and ultimately, seperation from God is death.

So what is the solution??

Stop.

No, seriously. Right now, stop whatever you are doing (or whatever else you are doing, since you are reading this). Don’t do anything. Don’t read, don’t talk, don’t fiddle. Just stop for 5 minutes.

………..
…………..
……………….

Did you stop? What did you hear? And not only did you stop to hear, but did you stop to LISTEN? Really listen?

Here’s the thing: God IS talking. There is no doubt about that. He speaks to us today just like He spoke to Adam in the Garden of Eden. He speaks to us just like when He met Saul on the road to Damascus (but perhaps without the blinding light). He speaks to us just the same as He spoke to the prophets of old.

When He spoke to David in the cave, He spoke to you too. When He was speaking to John the Baptist, He was talking with you. But did you listen? The same Creator of the universe, the same God who formed all things, and rules all things, wants to have an intimate, personal relationship with you. He’s been waiting for the moment you stopped to hear Him. Let’s face it…you wouldn’t ignore your best friend on the phone, so why would you shut out the God who made you, who loves you, and who wants the very best for you? He is right there, speaking, waiting for you to take just a few short minutes and stop everything. He wants to tell you so much, so can you do it? Can you put aside the busy agendas, the things that one year from now you won’t even remember, and the things you put inbetween a closer relationship with Him?

He’s waiting for you. He doesn’t require much. Just a willing ear and a quiet spirit. Take the time today to stop and listen. Putting it off today will only make it harder to do tomorrow. Take the time to hear Him today.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

